Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

Sorry, Edna* – I Say Let’s All Wear Capes!

I finished building a Wonder Woman cape!

Stars go on the outside. They only turned Lynda Carter’s cape backwards to get the beauty shot.

As much as I wanted to keep it, I didn’t make it for myself (which is why it’s so short on me). I made it for a special little girl named AnnaMay.

I first heard about AnnaMay on Jen’s EPBOT blog and was inspired to help make her geeky dreams come true – she wanted to be Wonder Woman for Halloween. (Thanks, Jen, for being the instigator and letting me be a part of the fun!)

I was given the task of building the cape and the boots (both of which will have their own posts about how I made them later) while someone else made the top & skirt, and Jen made bought the accessories (original plan was her making them).

Before I mailed it off to its intended owner, I had fun wearing the cape for some blog photos taken by my mom (Thanks, Mom!). I think we should all wear capes – just because!

Spinning is required when one sports a cape.

I was trying to get a good shot of the back as I spun for the camera, but there was such a shutter delay, my mom and I had trouble timing it. We kept getting the same angle over and over!

So I kept spinning. And spinning. And I got really dizzy. Which gave me the giggles. Which made the whole thing just spiral into silliness.

I’m having way too much fun in these photos! We finally got the back but it was action-shot blurry. I’m calling it art.

I don’t think I’ve been that dizzy since grade school when I would turn in circles until I collapsed to watch the ceiling keep turning above me.

There are two ways to tie a cape.

One way is the standard bow in front:

My typical squinting in the sun smile.

The other is a way to avoid the bow riding up to choke the wearer by wrapping the ties over the shoulders & under the arms (like a backpack) and tying it behind the wearer’s back but under the cape:

No choking possible. =)

It makes me happy that AnnaMay will never outgrow her cape, which is part of the reason I spent so much time on the details.

Appliqué stars with sequins.

She will be wearing it tonight at Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party. I can’t wait to see (and share) pictures!

(UPDATE: See pictures of AnnaMay in this post!)

Enjoy your cape, AnnaMay! I hope you proudly wear it to shreds! I certainly had fun test-driving it! =)

And yes, I also ran around my parents’ backyard in it. Capes have a way of making you do things like that.

* “No capes!” (on YouTube)

35 responses to “Sorry, Edna* – I Say Let’s All Wear Capes!

  1. Chuck October 17, 2013 at 10:32 am

    Wonder Brookie! What a geek. Love it.

  2. sewexhausted October 17, 2013 at 10:46 am

    Super cape Brooke!!! Probably the bestest cape ever! ~Laurie

  3. pmoppins October 17, 2013 at 11:05 am

    You are awesome! Not only because of your super-human sewing powers, but also because of your heroic deed in helping this little girl. Again, awesome.

  4. MissParayim October 17, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    Looks like you’re having a great time! I bet she’ll love it :)

    • Brooke October 17, 2013 at 4:31 pm

      I really was having a great time! I know she loves it because her mom said she wore it while doing homework the day she got it. Such a great mental image! =)

  5. Cation Designs October 17, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    I love that cape, and even more now that I know what it was made for! I remember seeing that call on EPBOT and think it’s so awesome that you wanted to help this girl out, and with such a labor of love, too. And I’m totally with you on capes making one do crazy things…

    • Brooke October 17, 2013 at 4:37 pm

      Thanks! When I answered the call, it was a few days after it posted and didn’t really think I would be needed – so I was excited that I got to make the easier-to-fit parts of the costume! Who doesn’t love a cape (besides Edna Mode)?! =)

  6. Chris Lucas October 17, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    Sure does look like you did a great job and had a lot of fun test driving it. AnnaMay is soooo going to love wearing it… who wouldn’t lol

  7. Gjeometry October 17, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    Wooo!!! I love your Wonder Woman cape Brooke, great job. And it was so delightful to read about the fab geeky kids on the Epbot site. I hope AnnaMay wears her Wonder Woman costume with PRIDE!! Nobody deserves to be made fun of and I hope she realizes that it is the kids who are making fun that really have insecurity problems and that there is nothing wrong with her. Well, here goes……da na na ana na naa na na da da na na da na. (Wonder Woman theme song, just for AnnaMay!)

  8. aem2 October 17, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    I think even Edna would approve of that cape. It is the epitome of awesome.

  9. thevintagetraveler October 17, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    Super Sewist! You have such a good heart!

  10. laurahoj October 17, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    I love this cape. I know AnnaMay must feel like she is on top of the world!

  11. Tempest Devyne October 18, 2013 at 11:22 am

    This is so fabulous. I want one. We used to play Wonder Woman in the school playground. Hang on, if I make one I’ll never get anything done for wanting to zoom around the garden in it….perhaps I’d better not. Love the stars and the advice on wearing capes. (No capes!! I was sitting in the orthodontist waiting for my daughter the other day and they had The Incredibles on, three parents all exclaimed “no capes!” into the otherwise silent waiting room when Edna uttered it. Love that movie).

    • Brooke October 18, 2013 at 8:21 pm

      Thank you! And yes, it’s probably best that I did not keep it – I’d never get anything done either! =)

      The Incredibles is one of the best movies ever!

  12. chuleenan October 18, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    I’ve enjoyed watching the cape process on Instagram. How wonderful that you are helping to make her Wonder Woman dream come true! You did a fantastic job on it! Reading about her in the link you provided definitely brought a tear to my eye. I hope AnnaMay has a great time on Halloween. Hope to see pics of her wearing the whole outfit!

    • Brooke October 18, 2013 at 8:26 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed watching the build on Instagram – I was a little afraid I was over doing it! I have another blog post planned for just the build because I took way more photos than I even posted on IG! I couldn’t think of a better way to tell AnnaMay’s story than Jen already did, so I’m glad you clicked the link. =)

      I will definitely be sharing some photos – I can’t wait to see the whole outfit together myself!

  13. Athene October 18, 2013 at 10:32 pm

    Cute! This looks like fun. I hadn’t read that story on epbot, but anyone would love to wear a cape like that….for any occasion really. It’s just really neat looking. (And yes, as soon as I saw the title of the post, I thought of Incredibles! That was one of my favorite parts of that movie!)

    • Brooke October 18, 2013 at 10:47 pm

      It really is a beautiful design – I had so much fun copying it! The costumes in so many ’60s tv shows were amazingly complex despite the visual simplicity.

      There were so many great characters in that Pixar film, but Edna Mode has got to be one of the best of all time!

  14. linda October 21, 2013 at 7:06 pm

    I love what you did for AnnaMay, and I love the cape! I think I have to make one for myself. After all, my name is Linda Carter!

  15. Kathryn October 22, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    Capes definitely have a way of making you do that! After we saw the first Thor film we affixed the biggest towels we had to us as capes and swept around our student house as Asgardians… Anyway! Nice cape, I really like the detailing and it is obvious a lot of effort went into it; I’m sure it will be treasured.
    K.

  16. Susan Partlan (@susanpartlan) October 23, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    The cape is awesome. Now you need to make one for yourself. Or maybe not, because then you might fly away…

  17. Celeste October 24, 2013 at 9:05 am

    Absolutely adorable! That’s was SUPER sweet to help make A.M.’s dream come true! *Virtual pat on the back* Job Very Well done!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

