Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

Happy Halloween!

Remember the Wonder Woman cape I had fun modeling? It looks so much better on AnnaMay, its intended wearer!

Jen posted some wonderful photos of AnnaMay wearing her Wonder Woman costume on EPBOT recently, and said I could share them on my blog as well. You can also see the boots I made to go with the cape in the pictures. =)

Here are two of my favorites (read Jen’s post to see a few more pictures including a group shot of superheroes!):

AnnaMay in her Wonder Woman cape!

Good photo of the Wonder Woman “boots” I made to cover her sneakers. (They fit! Yay!)

I got the best email from AnnaMay’s mom earlier this week:

We went to camp this weekend in the mountains.  All of the families that go have at least one child with autism or sensory disorders like AnnaMay. We shared our cabin with another family who had 2 children. One of them was a 5 year old little girl.  We were getting ready for the Halloween carnival and I was helping AnnaMay with her costume.  We went to put the cape on and the girl came over with huge eyes and asked AnnaMay if she could fly.  AnnaMay told her no. The girl leaned in and very earnestly said, “I bet you could with that cape if we got you up high enough.” I thought you might enjoy knowing you made a cape so awesome it made a 5 year old believe AnnaMay could fly…

And here’s a great shot taken by AnnaMay’s mom of the whole costume:

I can’t tell you how much this makes me smile!

So the job I’ve been working for the past few of months for a holiday display has been postponed for a year. (Bummer – I have eleventy-million pictures I want to share!) This week, I’m helping finish some costumes at the University of Dallas for a friend who wasn’t able to complete the job due to health issues. And in a couple more weeks I’ll be helping in the Southern Methodist University costume shop for 2 weeks. So I’m keeping surprisingly busy this season!

The detailed posts on how I made the Wonder Woman cape & boots will be coming as soon as I have time to sit down and go through my photos.

And Happy Reformation Day!

10 responses to “Happy Halloween!

  1. Karen Helm October 31, 2013 at 11:01 am

    What a fun post to read! What a cute Wonder Woman, made possible by a “Wonder Seamstress”.

  2. thevintagetraveler October 31, 2013 at 11:16 am

    She does look like she can fly!

  3. Chuleenan of C Sews October 31, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    Yay!! I’m thrilled to see the photos of AnnaMay wearing the entire costume. She looks soooo happy! Congrats again on doing such a fantastic job on that cape – definitely worth a finger blister (or two). ;)

  4. Pary Moppins October 31, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    That is so cool and the BEST costume I’ve seen this Halloween. :) Y’all did an amazing job.

  5. Susan Partlan (@susanpartlan) November 1, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    Oh, I’m glad you posted photos of AnnaMay wearing her awesome costume, and it’s nice to know a little about her and her family. She looks like one very happy little girl :).

  6. laurahoj November 1, 2013 at 4:35 pm

    I’m so glad you got the pictures of her wearing the cape! The whole costume is wonderful. What a great project!

  7. Gjeometry November 5, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    Aw, fabulous!! She looks like a real superhero. Great job Brooke.

  8. Carolyn November 7, 2013 at 8:17 am

    I guess it’s still a small sewing-world: I just popped over here from the comment you left on my blog about the Charles James dress I’m about to tackle and lo & behold you’re one of the wonderful ladies behind AnnaMay’s amazing Wonderwoman costume I’ve been reading about on Epbot! I just had a peek at your sewing room as well – it’s so beautiful and beautifully functional. I’m still dreaming of the day I have that.

    • Brooke November 7, 2013 at 9:05 am

      Yes, the internet does make the sewing world seem smaller for sure! Thanks for the comment! =)

      As for my sewing room, it’s an absolute mess right now – I really need to pull a bunch of stuff out and reorganize. But it’s hard to get motivated to clean it when I’d rather be sewing! Best of luck on your project!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers

