Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

I Love Lucy Black & White Polka Dot Dress with Apron

Since today is Lucille Ball’s 100th birthday, here’s a project I had 4 or 5 years ago. I had a client ask for an I Love Lucy costume and she brought me this picture of the Franklin Mint Lucille Ball Vinyl Portrait Doll:

I had a lot of fun building this dress & apron and it is always extra satisfying when a costume ends up looking just like the inspiration picture.

The completed costume on my dressform

The secret to any well executed period look is all about the proper underwear giving the costume the correct silhouette!  Like with Camille’s wedding dress, I again used the ’50s style petticoat from Petticoat Junction – it really completes the authentic fifties look by making the skirt truly A-line.

View of front & back

UPDATE 1/21/12: I have recently found one of my photographs being used (without my permission) on a retail site as their own merchandise.  I do not work for any retail company and have never made any samples of this dress, so I can not promise that you will receive the same quality dress if you order from another company using my picture.

I have replaced the above pictures with watermarked copies (something I had forgotten to do when I originally wrote this post).  This blog post is the original source of this custom-made dress and it was made by me.  If you use my photos elsewhere on the internet, please link back to the source.  Thanks.    ~ Brooke

17 responses to “I Love Lucy Black & White Polka Dot Dress with Apron

  1. Orlene August 6, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    What a fun and perfect dress! Perfect post for the day. Been having fun watching “I Love Lucy” episodes all day!

  2. cindy colliou November 16, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Can you tell me where I can buy Lucille ball dresses like this one,,the black polka dot dress with the apron please,,,i love her dresses,,,skirts,,,hats,,,,aprons,ect. Thank you I go threw yahoo site,,it was Custom Style

    • Brooke November 16, 2011 at 8:59 pm

      I made this dress for a client and can make you anything custom that you would like. You can email me through my “contact” page on this site for specific details about a custom order. Eventually, I plan to stock my Etsy store with a variety of items (including costumes like this one) that will be available for purchase. Check back for news in later blog posts or keep tabs at CustomStyle.etsy.com where I will be listing items for sale in the future.

  3. Jessie November 21, 2011 at 7:59 am

    This is completely amazing! I just adore all of Lucy’s clothing/costumes in ‘I Love Lucy’, particularly this dress. What acheivement you’ve made! Simply gorgeous! Well done =D

  4. CostumeDeeva April 3, 2012 at 7:07 am

    What a fun dress… absolutely perfect. It’s a shame about the retail site stealing images – They generally have more resources at their disposal then the smaller/independent – shame on them!

  5. Rebekah Shelton November 1, 2012 at 9:46 am

    I love love love this….and so much more from pas posts. How do I order from you? If I could afford it….you would be making all of my clothes!

  6. Jullienne February 23, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    This is amazing! Did you make this from your own pattern or did you have one? If you had one can you provide the manufacturer and pattern number?

    • Brooke February 23, 2013 at 2:05 pm

      Thank you! I started with a purchased pattern for the bodice but I altered it to be what I wanted and patterned the sleeves, collar, and skirt from scratch.

      Any time I start a project, I look for something with the main seam lines I want and alter from there. =)

      • Lucy May 14, 2015 at 2:39 am

        Hi, this dress is amazing, what pattern did you use for the bodice? I would like to try and make this dress for my son’s girlfriends 21st birthday party.
        Lucy from Australia

      • Brooke May 14, 2015 at 8:57 am

        I don’t remember for sure, but I think it’s an out-of-print pattern now. I drafted the collar, the sleeves, and the skirt from scratch. I usually start with a pattern that has the main seam lines I want, and alter from there.

  7. Bethany Weisser October 6, 2013 at 1:05 am

    How long does it take you to make this? I’d love to have this dress!

    • Brooke October 6, 2013 at 11:00 am

      It really just depends on my current schedule and whether I can find fabric locally. I’m currently booked until December of this year and don’t have time for any other projects until then. I will send you a more detailed email.

  8. Julie September 14, 2014 at 9:09 pm

    Can u make the vitameatavegamin dress???

  9. CM October 16, 2015 at 1:33 am

    I NEED this Lucy dress. Too bad I didn’t find you earlier. Beautiful creations.

Leave a Reply

