Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

A Handmade Felt Rose

I’ve been working on restoring a vintage hat for a client and need to make a flower or two for it. So this afternoon, I did a little experimenting.

I have some olive-green wool felt which will be the perfect color for the vintage hat decoration, but I decided to practice making a rose using the same deep-red felt that I used to make my 1940s style hat.

I shaped some petals and hand-stitched them together. Then I added a leaf made from the olive-green felt I plan to use for the hat’s flower. I think it turned out pretty well for a first attempt:

I might sew a pin backing on it and make it a brooch. It would also be pretty on a headband. I haven’t really decided what to do with it yet…

Related posts:

Retro Style Felt Ornaments

Restoring a Vintage Ring Hat

3 responses to “A Handmade Felt Rose

  1. Orlene January 22, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    Sooooo pretty!

  2. Karen January 23, 2012 at 10:26 am

    It’s lovely – and so clever. I like your idea of making it into a brooch (a prototype to consider for your Etsy shop…)

    • Brooke January 23, 2012 at 10:33 am

      Thanks! And yes, I actually was thinking about making a few more for my shop now that I have thought of a couple things I would do slightly differently to improve it. (I’m kind of surprised the first one turned out so well since I was kind of making it up as I went.)

Leave a Reply

