Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

This is Where It Starts?

Actually, I think it’s more like “this is where it ends” – at least for me, because the Nike commercial I worked on (mentioned here and briefly here) is finally complete and available for viewing!  =)

For those of you who are interested in a little behind-the-scenes commentary, here are a few things I can add:

I personally worked for 2 days before a 4 day shoot (I worked 2 of the actual shoot days).  Then I worked 3 days for reshoots.  So I had 7 days of work total for a 60 second ad.  To put it another way, that’s roughly 84 hours of work for sixty SECONDS.  Craziness.

Both the leading actors were really nice.  =)

All the basketball games were completely scripted – proof that almost everything you see on camera is totally staged even when it seems real.

And isn’t it amazing that Dallas can look like China?  lol – that”s the magic of the set decorations and costumes.

The jerseys the players are wearing starting at the :42 mark were the bulk of my work for the reshoots.  There were 2 full teams worth of jerseys and all were basically one size too big for the actors in the scene (the M was more like a L, the L was more like an XL, and so on) so they all had to be altered.  Unfortunately, they couldn’t just be taken in on the side-seams because there weren’t exactly side-seams.  The sides were a panel of horizontal stripes and the seams were serged and top-stitched.  I actually had to call in another costumer friend to help (thanks, Traci!) and together it took us about a day and a half to cut them all down and sew them back up to fit properly.

Those same jerseys have the date 2029 and the letters W.M.C.C.B on them.  No one knows what the letters actually mean (one good theory is that they’re the initials of some guys working in the corporate office) but one of the extras came up with a really funny version of his own:  “Will My Check Come Before 2029?”  LOL!

And the answer (for me anyway) is yes, because I received my check last week.  Thanks, Nike!  =)

17 responses to “This is Where It Starts?

  1. tracihutton August 7, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    Thanks for the link. I have been telling people about the commercial. It was fun yet hard work and I am glad you gave me a call to help you out. The jerseys do look good, our prayers were answered.
    I was wondering how the whole thing was going to look. Pretty amazing!

    • Brooke August 8, 2012 at 8:44 am

      It did turn out pretty well! =) I would have killed myself had I had to do it all on my own!

      I always have to laugh at how so many people get worked up about the details of everything during the process when you know that hours worth of footage will never leave the editing room floor! I knew it would be lots of fast moving action since they were trying to cram so much story into one minute – which was good for us, hehe.

  2. Cation Designs August 7, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    I can’t believe I “know” someone who worked on a Nike ad! That looks like some tedious sewing indeed, but good for you for powering through (and hauling all of your stuff back and forth)!

    • Brooke August 8, 2012 at 8:56 am

      lol – yes, I am almost sort of maybe famous. I just get paid to do the weirdest things! =)

      It was a little tedious, but then, alterations always are. (That’s why my personal alterations never get done!) I’m always amazed at how much I can accomplish (and how fast!) when I’m working for someone else.

  3. Melissa August 8, 2012 at 11:22 am

    I just caught that commercial on TV last week while watching water polo, it was great! You put so much work into it, but it looks amazing. Great job!

    PS. Did you catch the name of the actor who plays Meng Ling? He’s super hunky

  4. thevintagetraveler August 8, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Thanks for this great view inside the making of an ad. The commercial is really good, and totally believable.

    • Brooke August 8, 2012 at 2:19 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed my commentary! =)

      Yes, it’s nice to see that the camera work and editing all made my little contribution to it look good. (Sometimes, costumers look like they didn’t do their part because of how something is cut in the end.)

  5. agirlinwinter August 8, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    Thanks for sharing! You have the coolest job 🙂

    • Brooke August 8, 2012 at 4:16 pm

      It has its moments. =) I think the most gratifying aspect of what I do is the fact that I get to see physical proof that I’ve done something in the end.

  6. Karen August 8, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Your commentary on the making of this commercial just enforces the fact that it takes time – and attention to detail – to make things (whether clothing or ads or whatever!) excellent! I can’t wait to see it on TV.

  7. purplepincushion August 8, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    Very cool:-) I have altered a few jerseys like that for customers, and you are right, they are not made to be altered expediently! I also have the same problem of working swiftly for my customers but not so swiftly for myself:-/ Lol! I have 3 pair of new pants that have been waiting patiently to be hemmed for the last 3 weeks:-p Maybe I will have them done by this time next year.

    • Brooke August 8, 2012 at 8:08 pm

      lol – yep, it usually take me about a year to get to my own alterations too. Pathetically, I think I have a couple outfits that I pinned for altering and just wear with the pins because I still haven’t gotten around to replacing them with actual thread. My husband half-jokingly says that our personal things needing alterations go to my sewing room “to die”.

      • purplepincushion August 8, 2012 at 8:20 pm

        Lol! My husband is a mechanic, you know whose cars get fixed last;-) And I have many a safety pinned outfit:-) But at least, as a former wardrobe master, i know how to strategically place the safety pins so no one else knows they are there (or so I tell myself) 🙂

      • Brooke August 8, 2012 at 8:25 pm

        Yep, I’ve learned to hide pins well myself because that’s usually how extras clothes get fixed on the fly. Only costumers know where to look. =)

        I’m glad my husband is more a hobby mechanic! He’s good at getting our cars fixed fast. =)

Leave a Reply

