Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

My Blog Turns 2 – with a Post Count Milestone!

November is a month of birthdays for my household.  Our puppy Wensley started the month when he turned one on the First.

Don’t let the cute face fool you – he’s no saint, despite his birth date!

Then I got old…er.

Then my husband had his birthday.

And now my blog ends the month with a birthday.  So with the 60th post, happy second birthday, little blog!

In some ways, I can’t believe it’s been two years since I started this blog.  In other ways, I can because it seems like I’ve been actively a part of the blogosphere forever.

Thank you so much to all my regular readers and commenters – you all make me smile every time you take a minute to share your thoughts!  I really enjoy the interaction, and I enjoy reading so many of your blogs as well!

I have a list of ideas for upcoming posts.  There will be some stories about childhood sewing and excitingly successful research about my vintage Wizard brand sewing machine to share.  I’m currently in the middle of making Gandalf the Green his own table (so there will be another sewing room IKEA hack coming up) and I have a bunch of mock-ups ready to fit after I clean up my sewing room a little.

I hope you have enjoyed how my blog has evolved over the past two years and will continue to come back.

And if there’s anything specific you would be interesting in reading about, please let me know in the comments!

20 responses to “My Blog Turns 2 – with a Post Count Milestone!

  1. CostumeDeeva November 30, 2012 at 7:06 am

    I’d sing but it would be horribly off-key! You’re doing a great job.

  2. Leila November 30, 2012 at 7:37 am

    Happy blogiversary and birthday wishes all around.

    • Brooke November 30, 2012 at 8:03 am

      Thanks! I’m still trying to wrap my head around it almost being Christmas – with the movie job ending so abruptly, I never really felt like it was November! It’s been a strange autumn where I live.

  3. Karen November 30, 2012 at 11:17 am

    Congratulations, Brooke! Your blog was one of the first I began following – and the interaction between our blogs and one another over the past months/years has been a highlight for me! Keep up the dialogue – it’s great!

    • Brooke November 30, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      Aww, thanks, Karen! The feeling’s mutual. =) You were my first non-friend-or-family follower, and it meant so much to me that I will never forget it!

  4. thevintagetraveler November 30, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Happy birthday to all of you, and congratulations on the 2 years of blogging. Keep it up!

    • Brooke November 30, 2012 at 5:32 pm

      Thanks so much! I hope to someday achieve the long running success you have with your wonderful blog! Yours is always interesting and an inspiration to keep mine up. =)

  5. Athene November 30, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    Wensley is so skinny! Does he normally sit like that? hehe.

    • Brooke November 30, 2012 at 11:09 pm

      lol – yes, he is more of a show dog than our last Jack Russell. It’s kind of funny how many shapes and sizes pure-bred JRTs can be. We took him to a the most recent JRT competition and he had sooo much fun (he got 3 ribbons too!). There was one dog there that was pretty big and he liked to sit on his owner’s shoulders! It was hilarious to see the dog jump up to perch like a parrot!

      That’s his standard “I’m just lounging here” position.

  6. Cation Designs December 1, 2012 at 11:37 am

    I didn’t realize your Wensley was a JRT! No wonder why he vaguely reminded me of Wishbone — did you ever watch that show? A dog relives/tells the stories of all sorts of classic literature?

    Congratulations on your second blogiversary! I always get excited when I see a post of yours show up in my reader. Even though I enjoy all of your posts, I’ll confess that I’m always especially intrigued when you post about job-related things, or when you share little tidbits about stripes on TV, etc. It’s so interesting to see what somebody who has my “dream job” really does!

    • Brooke December 1, 2012 at 4:31 pm

      Wishbone is actually the reason my dad finally let me get a dog my senior year of high school (I had been begging since kindergarten). My little sister and I LOVED that show and my dad thought the dog was cute. (And now, I can even say I’ve met and worked with a lot of the cast & crew from that show! It’s really weird how so many things in my life are connected.) My dog’s favorite person was my husband once we were married. When our dog died last year (he was almost 15), I promised my husband we’d get another JRT because he was so brokenhearted about losing that dog.

      Thanks for following my blog and commenting! (And thanks for inspiring me so often with your blog!) I will try to keep remembering to share some costuming stories and tips. I think you will really like one of the posts currently in my draft folder. =)

      • Cation Designs December 1, 2012 at 7:12 pm

        Oh wow, I can’t believe somebody else loved Wishbone!! Usually when I mention the show and explain the premise, people are perplexed and dubious. Wishbone helped me sound intelligent in conversations involving classic literature, so I am forever grateful. How cool that you’ve met and worked with those people!

      • Brooke December 1, 2012 at 8:53 pm

        It was my favorite after-school show in high school – I even had a calendar one year! And around here in the Dallas area, everyone knows about Wishbone because it filmed here (I didn’t live here then). And Hit Entertainment bought both Barney & Wishbone at some point.

        The Wishbone “dress forms” used to be sitting on the Barney Dino shop shelves way up high, hehe. One of the costumers I know always had to fit the costumes on Soccer (aka Wishbone), and she said that he would “bow” every time he saw her because he didn’t like fittings. Bowing made it hard for her to put something over his head – lol!

  7. Jen O December 17, 2012 at 10:48 am

    Congrats on your blog’s anniversary, it’s always fun to drop by to see what interesting things are going on with you, so looking forward to your future 3rd year of blogging!

Leave a Reply

