Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

I Smell Cheese

It’s time to take a short break from whatever you were doing and enjoy a laugh!

Below are two amusing videos from the 1950s that I came across today.  First up is an umbrella fashion show.  (Do fashion designers still do accessory runway shows today?  I can’t say I’ve ever seen a modern show featuring them.)

While most of the umbrellas they are showcasing look like they should be props in comedic musicals, the dresses and hats worn by the models are beautiful!  I especially like the red & white hat that was paired with the red & grey umbrella.

And here’s another video with horribly kitschy hats, complete with cheesy narration and acting:

It starts out rather costumey and then just becomes absurd by the end!  (The “funnel” hat made the laugh most.)

“It just goes to show what can be done with a little imagination – if you know how.”  LOL

Now don’t you feel inspired to go looking through your kitchen cabinets instead of in your closet?  Hope you enjoyed the quick break!  =oD

10 responses to “I Smell Cheese

  1. pmoppins December 4, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    I am now completely obsessed with all umbrellas and kitchen utensils. I NEED some of those umbrellas to go with my colanders, er, I mean hats. I totally agree that “the days of diamonds and furs not mixing with pots & pans are over!” Amen.

  2. Patty December 4, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    HIlarious! The hats remind me of the crazy ones (shoes I think) by Katherine Helmond in “Brazil”. Thanks for a good laugh this afternoon!
    Patty

  3. tracihutton December 4, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    Brooke,
    What a hoot! Some of the designs made me think of things we could have or might have created during Barney. Yes, the funnel hat made me laugh out loud also. I did like the white feather hat the best in that series. I loved the Black Widow umbrella best in that collection. I don’t know where you found these recordings, but great job is getting them into our hands.

    • Brooke December 4, 2012 at 7:39 pm

      Yes, I was having Barney “robot” flashbacks – especially with the colander hat, hehe. And I love that umbrella if you were to remove the spider!

  4. Karen December 4, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    I want the gold lame umbrella with the mink trim….

  5. Chuck December 5, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    Speaking of funnel hats. Tom Terrific wore a funnel hat. He was a cartoon character on the Captain Kangaroo show in the late fifties. Also I might comment on that the tea pot hat, it looks like it is made out of paper mache. Don’t you think a souffle baking dish would make a good pill hat? You could go on all day dreaming this stuff up. Ah the fifties.

    • Brooke December 6, 2012 at 9:54 am

      lol – it does remind me a bit of costumers being silly in a costume shop because we always try things on as hats, even when they aren’t hats. They probably used paper mache to cover the same teapot she is holding, hehe.

Leave a Reply

