Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

The Sorting Hat Has (Sort of) Spoken

Thank you so much for all the wonderful comments on the last post! I had a lot of fun reading about everyone’s sewing projects!

There were quite a few of you in need of a good press cloth and I really wish I had enough to send one to everyone!

I wrote all the entries on paper (I’m old school like that, plus it gave me something to take photos of):

As promised, for the small cloth drawing, I put everyone’s name into the hat:

And then my husband drew the names of the winners.

The first winner of a silk organza press cloth is:

The second name drawn was:

Winner number three is:

And the winner of the larger press cloth for her entertaining comment is:

But wait! There’s more!

Right after I published the giveaway post, I found a 5th press cloth! It had slipped off of my ironing board and into a stray bag of fabric, and I had forgotten the exact number of press cloths I had made.

So there’s one more lucky winner! The final press cloth goes to:

Congratulations to IngeMaakt, Bird and Bicycle, LauraHoj, The Seeds of 3, AND Karen!  Please email me your mailing addresses, ladies, and I will get them in the mail sometime this week.

And since I can’t send one to the rest of you, I will share this video with you (because The Seeds of 3’s comment got the song stuck in my head):

14 responses to “The Sorting Hat Has (Sort of) Spoken

  1. Gjeometry August 17, 2013 at 10:29 pm

    Congrats to the winners!

  2. IngeMaakt August 18, 2013 at 3:38 am

    yay, I’m so happy to win 🙂 thank you Brooke, I’ll send you an e-mail right away!

  3. theseedsof3 August 18, 2013 at 4:11 pm

    Neil Diamond Rules!!! Whoooooo hoooooo! oh, and thank you so much for the great press cloth!

  4. Chuck August 18, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    I had forgotten how yukky those leisure suits looked. If you look up the definition of yukky, it originated about the same time the leisure suit appeared which probably originated the word. It makes me think of those hideous outfits Elvis wore. I’m glad I never owned one. However, we did wear dorky bell bottoms. We were children of the sixties. Peace and love.

  5. shawnta715 August 19, 2013 at 11:49 am

    I’m excited cause my name was on top! Congrats to the winners!

  6. laurahoj August 19, 2013 at 4:29 pm

    I’m so excited! Thanks so much.

  7. Orlene August 20, 2013 at 9:36 am

    I love your choice for grand prize winner!! Her post makes me laugh & laugh! (& Neil D. is one of my old time faves too)

  8. Calico Stretch August 21, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    Lucky winners indeed – I love my two organza press cloth and use them all the time. Thank you also for the link about fabric embossing a few posts ago – I too would love to be able to buy supplied because it looks stunning. Dunno what I’d use it for but I’d find something right?

    • Brooke August 21, 2013 at 5:20 pm

      I think we could all find something to do with the embossing – so many possibilities and endless combinations of pattern & color! I will let everyone know when and if her products become available. =)

Leave a Reply

