Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

Shoe Fruit Games!

Sometimes, I just need a break from projects that require me to think. I’m constantly engineering, prototyping, and problem-solving when sewing – it can be exhausting and burn me out.

So when Erin of Dog Under My Desk offered to give a bag pattern away to anyone who was interested in sewing one and blogging about it, I said “sign me up!” and I chose The Essential Wristlet pattern.

Click to see the other blogs that are part of the blog hop plus all the individual giveaways!

I knew from talking to Erin on Twitter that she was my kind of perfectionist because I’ve seen how meticulously she tests her patterns before offering them in her shop. And I knew that she would be giving me the gift of a fun little project where all the brain cramps had been suffered for me.

I was not disappointed!

Erin’s instructions are amazing. A detailed supply list. Full step-by-step, with beautiful color photographs. Multiple options and ways to customize.

And her pricing is hardly charging what the sewing instructions alone are really worth!

Yeah, I can make a bag pattern, but why bother when Erin already has, and has already tested… and tested… and perfected?

Anyone can make professional looking bags with instructions like hers, truly. (When he saw it, my husband actually thought the first one I made was retail merchandise! “Where’d you get this?” was, in fact, uttered.)

I have plans to make other versions (especially when I need a break from thinking!), but here are the three I’ve made so far in more detail:

3 wristlets – one small and two large.
They make perfect little clutch purses or bags to go in a larger bag or purse.
(Phone for size comparison.)

Bingo-Print-Bag

Small size wristlet.
I used a lobster clasp with detachable keyring on my bags.

Large size wristlet.
I shortened the wrist loop a little after making the previous bag.

Large size wristlet with double zipper & outer pocket.

My Samsung Galaxy 3 phone fits in both the small and large size wristlets, but it is a little tight in the small (top) bag.

The best part about all of this is that I have a free copy of the wristlet pattern to offer to anyone who comments on this post. But you have to be quick!

Drawing for the free PDF pattern is closed only open until 3pm on Saturday, September 21, 2013 United States Central Time (GMT -6). I will announce the winner in a short post that evening. Winner announced in this post.

I already have a 4th bag (another large version) cut out and ready to assemble.

I figured something simple like a wristlet would be a nice project for the scraps of such hateful fabric (you might remember the metallic brocade from this post).

So leave me a comment for a chance to win the pattern and make your own. And check out all of Erin’s other great bag patterns too!

Thanks, Erin, for the great pattern!

81 responses to “Shoe Fruit Games!

  1. FabricKate September 19, 2013 at 6:04 am

    This is just lovely. The fabrics, contrasting zips and linings, and the use of the claw and key ring make them special. Well done. Great work.

  2. Janet Moilanen September 19, 2013 at 6:35 am

    I have a couple of Erin’s patterns and they are wonderful! I would love to win the Wristlet since I don’t have that one! Thanks for the chance to win.

  3. Yvette September 19, 2013 at 6:54 am

    I agree with you – I can make my own patterns for things but it’s so much easier just to use someone else’s (well written) pattern! I have 2of Erin’s patterns and they are great! Would love to add this one to my collection 🙂

  4. Megan September 19, 2013 at 7:04 am

    I love making bags. This pattern would make great Xmas gifts. thanks for your blog and the chance to win 🙂

  5. momtomyhandful September 19, 2013 at 8:18 am

    I own a TON of Erin’s patterns and they’re all so well written! They’re easy enough for beginners, but they don’t insult the intelligence of experienced sewers, either. Love your fabric!

  6. Lizzie September 19, 2013 at 9:28 am

    It looks like a great use for all those little left over pieces from a project.

  7. Kimberly September 19, 2013 at 9:56 am

    Really fantastic!

  8. Anne September 19, 2013 at 9:59 am

    What a great little bag! Ideal for my phone & keys when I take the dog for a walk 🙂

  9. Niki September 19, 2013 at 10:00 am

    So stinkin’ cute!!! The high tops fabric cracks me up. You did a great job!

  10. nicole w September 19, 2013 at 10:02 am

    really cute wristlet! love the fabrics that you used too!

  11. Katie Dunn Clark September 19, 2013 at 10:04 am

    I have lots of leftovers from novelty pillow cases that would be great for this project. I even have the sneaker fabric. I see lots of wristlet’s for my daughter and her college roommates in my weekend sewing plans !!

  12. Lisa Marie September 19, 2013 at 10:06 am

    So cute! These would make great little gifts!

  13. livingaradiantlife September 19, 2013 at 10:10 am

    Those are so cute! Nice way to use up scraps and/or fat quarters I have lying around!

  14. Beth Bimber September 19, 2013 at 10:12 am

    oh my goodness – i should make one of these. i’m always dropping my phone from my jacket pocket….

  15. Twylia Voshol September 19, 2013 at 10:23 am

    Would make a great stocking stuffer!

  16. carolynmcginnis September 19, 2013 at 10:26 am

    I love Erin’s patterns. Good thing they are downloadable as I have almost worn out the originals!

  17. Lisa September 19, 2013 at 10:27 am

    The sneaker print wristlet is just too adorable!

  18. Karen September 19, 2013 at 10:41 am

    Oh, do enter my name for the drawing. These are so cute – and I’ll take your word for it that they are not complicated to make! I, too, need some projects that are “easier”. And, I have lots of scraps to use, too! Thanks, Brooke!

  19. Stephanie N September 19, 2013 at 10:46 am

    Oh I’d love to win a free copy of the pattern! Those designs are all too too cute. I need to make several. One for me and my 2 daughters!

  20. Susan R September 19, 2013 at 10:54 am

    Those look so neat!

  21. Juanita Wong September 19, 2013 at 11:00 am

    Good job! You sound so convincing..maybe Erin should hire you to do her marketing 🙂

  22. Fluffy Duckling September 19, 2013 at 11:07 am

    This looks perfect for keeping my sewing essentials in rather than having them scattered around my sewing machine all of the time. I can think of many other uses too and I bet it won’t be long before my Little One asks for one to keep the mini Lego in 🙂 Thanks so much for this opportunity! xx

  23. Liz Schaffner September 19, 2013 at 11:15 am

    Super cute wristlets!!
    Please count me in for the giveaway…i’d love to sew something without thinking ! LOL

  24. sewlittletime September 19, 2013 at 11:22 am

    they are so cute! perfect for all those scraps!

  25. Suzanne T. September 19, 2013 at 11:24 am

    I just love the fabrics you picked! And I have used her patterns. Best instructions ever! I would love to win this one.

  26. Stacy September 19, 2013 at 11:29 am

    How sweet! Perfect pattern for all my RN supplies at work, great Christmas gifts too! Thanks for sharing, and thanks for the opportunity to win the pattern!

  27. Michelle Broadbent September 19, 2013 at 11:39 am

    Oooh! Pick me! Making things with zippers is fun!

  28. Bev September 19, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    So cute! I love the one with the shoes.

  29. JulieCC September 19, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    I love your fabric choices! I had to laugh at the husband comment…mine would NEVER notice. Although he did notice, and like, my Two Zip Hipster I made. 😉

    I love Erin’s patterns. You’re correct, she doesn’t charge nearly enough what they are worth, which makes them an *outstanding* value! 🙂

  30. texmex September 19, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    I love those and it was with this pattern that I learned to do correct zipper ends. So I love that pattern.

  31. Laura S. September 19, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    Oh I love these fabrics! And the pattern! So cute!

  32. ivygirl2112 September 19, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    This is such a cute design!

  33. Annette Lawson September 19, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    Looks just like what my daughter’s been looking for…. it will fit her phone and Needed items…. enter my name please!!

  34. Lynne Tilley September 19, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    I’m like you; I love a good, meticulous pattern. Thanks for the chance to win!

  35. Carla G September 19, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    These bags look awesome! And perfect for the bits of fabric leftover. Thanks for a chance to win! 🙂

  36. Lisa E September 19, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    I think these would be great gifts — cell phone holders. Thanks for the idea!

  37. Liz A September 19, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    What a cute pattern! These would make great gifts.

  38. Kelly September 19, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    I love little useful pouches like this! Would love to win as I have been trying to perfect sewing zippers.

  39. Stephanie Nowell September 19, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    I don’t need the pattern, I already have it 🙂 You did a great job! I love how there are so many variations in the pattern! I made the small two zipper wristlet and a large 2 zipper with the box pleats on the bottom! They are awesome!!

  40. sewexhausted September 19, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    Love these… they would make great gifts! ~Laurie

  41. Anne September 19, 2013 at 4:42 pm

    I’m thinking these would be nice Xmas gifts. Can they be lined with a waterproof type material so they can be used as cosmetic bags?

    • Brooke September 19, 2013 at 5:48 pm

      Anne – I am actually planning to line one of my next versions in some ripstop nylon and I am going to experiment with some iron-on vinyl to protect the outside. So I would say yes. =)

  42. jeanne s September 19, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    wristlets are the best. These are really cute

  43. Garilyn September 19, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    Those are great! I love the fabric for the 4th bag!

  44. Lori W September 19, 2013 at 5:54 pm

    Great bags! Thanks for a chance to win. This looks like an awesome pattern!

  45. Loree September 19, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    You can never have too many pouches, wristlets, and other miscellaneous bags of all sizes for all your assorted necessities of life! I love these, and would love to make some- Beautiful job on these!

  46. Chuleenan of C Sews September 19, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    Nice! They look great and would make excellent gifts!

  47. Carla September 19, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    I have some nieces that would love several of these.

  48. Kat September 19, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    I am one of these people that needs very explicit instructions and LOTS of pictures in order to sew anything correctly. lol It’s been a while since I’ve made anything and I’d love to get back into it with some thing simple. This looks like just the thing.

  49. A Fine Hand September 19, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    I see Christmas gifts in my future! I’m very glad to hear that the instructions are terrific, I hate it when I can’t figure out what someone is trying to tell me. Never made a bag before but getting to use my scraps and making useful little charmers like these is very enticing.

    • SonJa September 20, 2013 at 8:39 am

      Making bags and zippers is not hard at all! I used Erins Two Zip Hipster for my very first bag ever and her zipper instructions are soooo easy! Great photos al the way thru! Once you do a zipper, you’ll be addicted! Get your zippers on Etsy from “Zip It”. Great colOrs and prices!

  50. Shelly September 19, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    I have been looking at this pattern. Yours turned out so nice!

  51. Sharon coleman September 19, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    I love this wristlets pattern. I ended up making it an inch bigger all around so that it can hold more stuff. Good instructions and good overall pattern.

  52. Barbara September 19, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    Very cute fabrics, thanks for the chance to win the pattern!

  53. Donna Joy September 19, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    The wristlet bag is a great size to tuck a phone or a camera safely away. The fabrics are so much fun. I think I will make one for my 5 year old niece and put a little gift in it for her.

  54. Ginger September 19, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    Your wristlets look great!

  55. Louise September 19, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    Very nice size bag. Would love to win a copy of this pattery.

  56. DeborahGun September 19, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    Lovely pattern – thanks for sharing.

  57. Diane September 19, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    Nice! Beautiful work. Thanks for the giveaway.

  58. Fran September 20, 2013 at 6:10 am

    Your wristlets pouches are gorgeous! Lovely fabrics too. Thanks for the chance to win the pattern.

  59. Adriana Arrigoni September 20, 2013 at 7:13 am

    They look great! I can´t believe that we have a chance to win the pattern! thanks!

  60. SonJa September 20, 2013 at 8:35 am

    This is the pattern that brought me to Erins site and I love her patterns. Ultimately, I bought the two zip hipster but I really love this too!

  61. Meigan September 20, 2013 at 8:35 am

    Wristlets are great. Perfect for essentials on a night out.

  62. Becky N. in MO September 20, 2013 at 8:49 am

    Oooh! I love the wristlet pattern… one I don’t own yet. Yours are beautiful!!!
    Thanks for the chance!!!

  63. Miranda September 20, 2013 at 9:06 am

    Super cute! Thanks for the chance to win.

  64. Elizabeth September 20, 2013 at 11:23 am

    Nice bags! My daughter, Naomi, would love this pattern. She has found free patterns online and made a slew of them.

  65. Freda September 20, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    Love wristlets but love them more when I can make my own! 🙂

  66. Sox September 20, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    Is that ever cool! What a great way to use up those pesky little scraps!

  67. Kristen Powers September 20, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    I just got a new purse and am looking for patterns like these to fill it with. Sew cute

  68. Marcy September 20, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    These are too cool and you do beautiful work. I’m thinking Christmas gifts. Thx for sharing.

  69. Laura S. September 20, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    Cute wristlet! Hope mine is as cute!

  70. Ricki Duke September 20, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    These are really cute! I would love to win the pattern. These would make great Christmas gifts.

  71. laurahoj September 20, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    I love this wristlet pattern! Yours are so cute- the prints are great.

  72. kimberlee September 21, 2013 at 9:42 am

    That’s what I love, Erin has taken all the guesswork out of coming up with measurements for very useful, functional, and fun zippered bags!

  73. aem2 September 21, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    Ooh, I would love to make some of these as gifts for people. Pick me! Pick me!

  74. Susan Partlan (@susanpartlan) September 21, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    Oooh! These are great. These would have been great to give out as favors at one of my daughter’s birthday parties when she was little.

  75. Pingback: Wristlet Pattern Winner | Custom Style

  76. Marcy September 29, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    These bags are so cool. Neat, neat fabrics.

  77. Pingback: Bagmaking Blog Hop Winners!!! - Dog Under My Desk

  78. Betty Rivers October 7, 2013 at 8:55 am

    Am hoping directions are as good as everyone says. Already I am auditioning fabric for the 3 sizes.

Leave a Reply

