Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

Two Truths, A Lie, and More Honesty

For many days I have been pondering my Two Truths & A Lie. (Gillian of Crafting A Rainbow started it at the end of this post and MaLora of Bird and Bicycle dared me to join the fun.) I find it hard enough to choose random facts about myself and then trying to come up with a convincing lie made it even more difficult!

So here you go. Can you spot the lie?

  1. I love country music.
  2. I once won a three-legged race – without falling down!
  3. Batgirl is my cousin.

I’ll let you know if you guessed correctly in the next post. And now…

I’ve been nominated to join in another blogging “game” or blog hop by Karen of Fifty Dresses about sewing and why we blog about it.

What am I working on?

I’m currently trying to find the motivation to leisure sew (as opposed to hired sewing). I made the mistake of actually starting a written To-Sew list, and it has become a little overwhelming because it’s so long! I’ve been slowly trying to produce practical garments to put in my closet so I’ll have more than just church clothes from my portfolio to wear.

Why do I write?

I guess I write because I feel like more people listen to what I have to say when it’s in print. That way, they have the option of ignoring/skimming a text without feeling like they have to be polite to my face, and those who really want to absorb my meaning can. I find small talk awkward, and when I do join group conversations, I’m often ignored or drowned out by those who are louder and more charismatic.

I started my blog mainly because I was tired of answering the same questions about sewing/costuming over and over in real life. I feel like I’ve been able to write a handful of posts with really useful information that couldn’t easily be found elsewhere online. Google often seems to think so too. =)

Now I find my own blog useful because it’s a bit like a portfolio/diary that I can refer back to when I need to remember when or how I did something.

How does my blog differ from others of its genre?

Well, I suppose my blog is different because I am one of the few sewing bloggers who actually sews professionally during the day. It’s the actual blogging part of the sewing that is my hobby.

How does my writing process work?

I usually start with the photos.

I take a lot of photos during and after a build. (Many teasers end up on Instagram.) I weed through the overabundance of pictures and choose the best ones to edit. Then I try to connect the photos with words.

Once I have my thoughts down in a somewhat logical order, my wonderful editor (aka ever-patient, non-sewing-husband) plods through my droning about things he’s mostly not interested in reading, and makes me sound so much better than I normally would. My readers have no idea how much to thank him! He is also the best blog post title composer – you know all those clever titles? Yeah, all him. My blog would read like a dry history book without him. (I’m actually really worried when he doesn’t fix more than a couple of commas in a post.)

Most of my posts end up being longer than I plan for them to be, but I think because I’m not posting daily, it sort of balances out. At least I hope it does!

Nominate!

I always feel a little guilty about passing these things on, but I would like to know what Catja of Gjeometry and Melanie of The Seeds of 3 would have to say about their process (including a lie!) if they are inclined to play along. I don’t think either of you have been asked, have you? =)

And Karen of Fifty Dresses, do you have Two Truths & A Lie? Thanks for giving me the push to crank out a blog post – I’ve been trying to find the incentive to write for days!

So who wants to guess my lie? Leave your guesses in the comments of this post! (And no, Dad, you can’t play.)

14 responses to “Two Truths, A Lie, and More Honesty

  1. Bird and Bicycle September 12, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    Oooh! Good information!

    First, you probably haven’t won a three legged race. It’s just doesn’t suit. πŸ™‚ (I wanted to say country but I, in fact, love some country music and don’t you live in the south?) ha!

    Also, I love your blog! Your professional knowledge and personal sewing “tricks/techniques” are so dang useful for someone like me, a self taught sewist.

  2. niekemieke September 12, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    I don’t think you’re into country music πŸ™‚ i love your blog and all your help on Twitter/Instagram, you’re like my own personal reference book. I’ve learned so much from you! The only thing I regret is living as far away as I do πŸ™‚

  3. Laurie September 12, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    You are probably one of the most knowledgeable sewists I know! I see you always helping people out with their questions- and you have helped me! … I don’t know the lie. I want to say Batgirl is not your cousin… but it sounds so obvious! BUT, if Batgirl IS your cousin, please please see if she can introduce me to Batman… πŸ˜€

  4. thevintagetraveler September 13, 2014 at 8:49 am

    I say that you do not like country music.

  5. CGCouture September 13, 2014 at 9:24 am

    I think the lie is the winning the 3-legged race without falling down, because no one can do that. It’s physically impossible. πŸ˜‰

  6. Chuck September 13, 2014 at 11:50 am

    Darn. Can’t play.

  7. Russ September 13, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    They’re all true. Especially the lie.

  8. O! Jolly! September 13, 2014 at 1:38 pm

    Consider me a big fan of your blog. πŸ™‚

    I say you never won a three-legged race. No reason.

  9. Barbara September 13, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    I think you lied about country music.

  10. Fifty Dresses September 14, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    Thanks for the “more honesty”, Brooke! Always fun to learn more about fellow lovers of sewing! Now, of those three choices, they all sound like whoppers to me! I was going to say the country music is your untruth; however, I’ve changed my mind. I don’t think Batgirl is your cousin – maybe you know her, but she’s not your cousin!

  11. Chuleenan - C Sews September 14, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    Considering that you live in Texas, it seems too easy to say you like country music – so I’ll pick that as the lie. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about blogging, especially because blogging is your hobby as opposed to sewing. It’s nice that you’re able to share that hobby with your husband – so nice to have an editor! I edit all day at work so sewing is my hobby – and the writing is first person, instead of third person.

    Good luck on sewing pratical garments! I look forward to seeing more in the coming year. πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: The Lie Revealed | Custom Style

  13. Gjeometry September 24, 2014 at 9:41 am

    Hey, finally getting around to commenting, sheeze! Thank You so much for nominating me for the blog writing bloghop! I have a lot of ideas in my head, just have to get them down on paper. I enjoyed reading your post. I can totally relate to the ‘awkward small talk’ especially in large groups, for me, anyway. I had no idea your husband edited your posts!! That’s so cool! Kudos to him, this makes me smile. πŸ™‚ I do wish that my sewing assistant (Kitty) were a bit better at things like editing text and picture editing as I do it all on my own and it can get a tad overwhelming at times.

    • Brooke September 24, 2014 at 10:47 am

      Thanks – I’m glad you liked my post! I find that “getting stuff out of my head & onto paper” is always the biggest hurdle too. I can’t wait to read what you have to say about blogging and why you write! =)

Leave a Reply

