Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

Unintentionally Going Underground

Umm…hi!

I honestly did not mean to take such a long break (a full year!) from blogging – where did 2015 go??

For the first few months of the year, I was finishing up the second half of the season at The Dallas Opera and the long commute across town eats about 3 hours each day. So, needless to say, blogging at the end of a day didn’t hold much appeal.

When the opera season wrapped up at the end of April, I unexpectedly found the motivation to do a bunch of sewing for myself – I was whipping up a lot of things I had been wanting to make myself and didn’t want to risk losing enthusiasm by stopping to blog. (I did Instagram most of it though so I have a few crummy selfies & construction shots.)

2015-Makes

(as usual, click to enlarge)

My husband and I were also slowly working our way through a home office makeover on the weekends from the middle of February to the end of May. So the computer wasn’t properly set up at times during the DIY mess.

Home-Office-Makeover

We now have a large standing desk instead of two separate desks on opposite sides of the room.

And then the phone rang with a job offer and I was driving over to Louisiana on Memorial Day to work on a TV series filming in Baton Rouge.

Louisiana

I was promised a week of work. I packed for a month.

Television shooting schedules are a bit insane. I worked at least 12 hours a day and even worked one 18-hour day in the costume shop at the production office. (So glad I wasn’t working on set in the humid Louisiana summer heat!)

It was the middle of week 5 before I found myself driving home. I’ve worked in the film world long enough to know that once someone puts you to work and you don’t fail spectacularly, they will try to keep you as long as possible.

The day after I got home, a collarless pug showed up at my door. Luckily, I was able to track down the owner by the next afternoon thanks to DFW Pug Rescue. (If she had been chipped, it would have been easier – please have your pets micro-chipped!)

Wensley&VisitingPug

Wensley wasn’t pleased to have a visitor but he tolerated her.

I think I spent about a week just staring at the wall after everything got back to normal.

And a couple weeks later, I found myself going back to Baton Rouge. Good thing I hadn’t bothered to unpack my sewing machine from the first trip!

I only let them have me 2 weeks, and then I came home again.

I had about a month before the new opera season started, so I tried to finish up a bedroom makeover I had started between Louisiana trips.

Bedroom-Makeover

I recently made myself a new wool coat during daily breaks at the opera. And I even managed to get photos! I’ve been working on a blog post about the coat, but I decided to briefly put it aside because I found a TV promo of the show I worked on in Louisiana.

So here’s the first tiny (and I mean tiny) peek at a ball gown I miraculously cranked out in only 6 days, at about the 0:27 mark. You mostly just see the petticoat someone else made.

UPDATE 6/4/16: The original teaser I linked to disappeared, but I found a full length trailer instead. The ball gown is now at about the 1:48 mark:

Underground premieres March 9, 2016 on WGN for those of you who are interested in watching it.

Aside from a couple other projects that I’ll be able to talk more about in the coming months, that pretty much sums up my 2015.

I promise my next blog post will not be a year away!

Happy New Year, everyone!

35 responses to “Unintentionally Going Underground

  1. Barbara December 31, 2015 at 11:36 am

    I’ve seen your lovely wool coat in person, and I look forward to seeing the rest of your new clothes.

  2. witness2fashion December 31, 2015 at 1:31 pm

    What a year! Glad you’re back on the blog, but do give yourself a moment to enjoy all you accomplished. Your bedroom looks enormous with that paint change! And i love the sailboat print dress. Happy new year.

    • Brooke January 1, 2016 at 11:02 am

      Our bedroom has always been ridiculously long, making a lot of it a waste of space. Building a partial wall with some IKEA wardrobes was the perfect solution for not blocking all the natural light during the day and making it feel cozier at night. And now we have a “hallway” of storage behind the bed.

      I hope to get some decent photos of the sailboat dress when summer comes around again! =)

  3. gilliancrafts December 31, 2015 at 1:48 pm

    I always love seeing projects you’ve worked on! I hope that 2016 is a great year for you – perhaps with just a little more down-time! 😉

  4. erniek3 December 31, 2015 at 2:11 pm

    Hey, busy is good! Now I know to follow on Instagram to keep up with the good works. All the best for the new year to come!

  5. Leila December 31, 2015 at 10:06 pm

    You’ve had an amazing year! It’s very exciting to see even a tiny tiny glimpse of the gown you made.

    Happy New Year to you and your family!

    • Brooke January 1, 2016 at 11:11 am

      Thanks! It was kind of a crazy year! I’m sure it will be April or May before most of what I made will be seen – let’s hope I remember all of it by then! Not even sure I’ll be able to see any of the show since I don’t have cable and the main cable provider in my area stopped carrying WGN, so not even my parents get that channel.

  6. Sew Exhausted December 31, 2015 at 11:17 pm

    Wow! 2015 was a busy year for you! Love your green blouse in the first batch of photos…Looking forward to seeing you back here! Happy 2016!

  7. Elena Knits January 1, 2016 at 2:13 am

    It was indeed an exciting year. Sometimes life gets in the way and we don’t find time for blogging (myself too this year). We just could see a peek of that gown but it looks amazing! I like how your bedroom looks now, so tidy. I wish you a great 2016!

    • Brooke January 1, 2016 at 11:15 am

      Yes, life does have a habit of getting in the way! Thank you! I still have more organizing to do, but the bedroom is a lot less of a dumping ground, that’s for sure. =)

  8. Becky January 1, 2016 at 8:50 am

    It sounds like an exciting year for you, despite the busyness! I’m glad you still shared your makes with us on Instagram, they’re always so lovely. And I’m looking forward to seeing what you create this year!

  9. Fifty Dresses January 1, 2016 at 10:14 am

    So that’s where you have been! You may have been temporarily gone, but you were not forgotten – and I was always delighted to get a “like” or a comment from you! I would love to see the details on the pieces you made for yourself? Happy New Year, Brooke!

    • Brooke January 1, 2016 at 11:20 am

      Aww thank you, Karen! I may get around to doing another post or two including some of those outifts (especially the blouses) since I have a few other versions planned with different fabrics.

  10. Sandra (Sewist-Stitch) January 1, 2016 at 3:26 pm

    Because of Instagram I hadn’t noticed your absence from the blog – although I only read what comes up on my feed and don’t go looking particularly. The TV series looks good. Happy New Year and looking forward to sharing another year with you on the social media 🙂

    • Brooke January 1, 2016 at 3:39 pm

      Yes, thank goodness for feed readers or I’d never be able to keep up with blogs I follow! Even though social media moves so much faster, it’s somehow easier to keep up with. I can put off the blogging, but I find if I go too long between IG posts or tweets, I’ll start getting calls from my parents making sure I’m okay, hehe.

      The series looks better than I expected it to – I think I was a little too close to it and know too much about everything that happened behind-the-scenes.

  11. Chuleenan - C Sews January 1, 2016 at 8:25 pm

    Wow – I can’t believe how fast 2015 went by – and that this is your sole post for that year. You were really busy with work! I can see why you didn’t blog – but at least you did get a chance to make some things for yourself – such as your gorgeous coat! The series looks intriguing. I wish the clip had more of the ball gown in it. I see what you mean about the petticoat. 😉 Happy New Year!

    • Brooke January 2, 2016 at 2:18 pm

      Yep, my first and last post for 2015 all in one! I’m sure the preview for the episode with the ball will show more of the dress when they finally get to that – I think it’s something like episode 8, but I don’t remember for sure.

  12. agirlinwinter January 2, 2016 at 8:43 am

    Great to see you back on the blog. I’ve missed your posts 🙂

  13. claudia January 2, 2016 at 3:44 pm

    Well welcome home..I will look for the show ‘underground’..sounds like one I’d like

  14. Sarah C January 2, 2016 at 5:57 pm

    I have been following you on Instagram but it is so great to have you blogging again! Working on a TV show (or movie) is a dream of mine. That is so cool that you got to! I will definitely watch it.

    • Brooke January 2, 2016 at 6:31 pm

      Thanks! TV series always have crazy production schedules (most I have worked on previously are only 6 weeks from script to air for each episode), but movies are so much more reasonable when it comes to production time. One costume we built completely from scratch for Underground had to be done in only 24 hours because we didn’t get final casting until then – it was insane! I’d take movies or theatre over television any day.

  15. maryfunt February 7, 2016 at 12:24 pm

    So nice to see you back. Life does get hectic! Hopefully you will be able to have a little time to sew for yourself. I always enjoy seeing your projects.

  16. Gaja September 1, 2019 at 10:34 am

    The computer shelf arrangement is good.

    • Brooke September 1, 2019 at 1:09 pm

      Thanks! =) We’ve since hung the two side-by-side monitors on the wall and put the single monitor on a floating shelf (since that monitor can’t be wall-mounted).

Leave a comment