Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

Forget Resolutions, I’m Picking a Word.

In years past, I’ve sometimes made New Year’s resolutions and sometimes not; but as noble as the idea sounds, I’ve always felt they are rather pointless because they just wind up being a source of disappointment by highlighting a person’s shortcomings in the end.

That’s depressing.

I found this article about skipping New Year’s resolutions and simply choosing a word for the coming year.  It can be anything – noun, verb, adjective – just one word.

I have to say I really like this idea – it’s the opposite of depressing!

I think picking a word for the year could be an optimistic, uplifting, encouraging, inspiring, and (dare I hope?) motivating thing.  All the things that people wish for in a resolution.

I cannot fail at a word because it’s just a word.

A word can have multiple meanings, and allow for more thinking outside the box, compared to a resolution.

It could be fun to discover new ways to define a word in relation to your everyday life.

After much pondering, I have chosen a verb as my word, mainly because I feel the need to be active somehow.  My word for 2013 is Create.   It has a number of meanings and its origin (creatus) is related to the word crescere which means “arise, grow”.

I’m sure I will become aware of many ways Create applies to my life during my daily routine throughout the coming year.  I can’t fall short and I won’t forget my word by the middle of February.  =)

Feel free to join me in choosing a word for 2013, whether it’s Create or another word that speaks to you.  (And if you do, please share your word in the comments!)

Happy New Year!

11 responses to “Forget Resolutions, I’m Picking a Word.

  1. Leila December 30, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    Very cool to go with a word. I think I’ve managed to keep my year goals super basic cos from last year to this, I actually fulfilled a lot of my goals. I’m working on a list of 5 goals for 2013. I’m gonna add a word…which is amazingly hard.

  2. wanderoneday December 31, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    I like the idea of making one word the focus for the new year. “Create” is an excellent choice, and one I think would have described my 2012 pretty well, but for 2013 I think I would have to go with “Explore”. Good luck “creating” awesome things in the new year!

  3. Cation Designs December 31, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    Less disappointment with self = always good. I hope your next year is indeed full of creativity! I don’t know if I can abandon resolutions for a word just yet, as I think I need the structure, but I certainly like the idea of having a theme! Happy New Year!

    • Brooke January 1, 2013 at 10:44 am

      I still set goals for myself, but they are usually more short-term. I suppose it’s because I work better under pressure and would wait until the last minute (meaning the last week of December) if I set a year-long goal, hehe. By choosing a word, I hope to start a habit. =) Happy New Year to you too!

  4. Ashley January 1, 2013 at 10:53 am

    I think my word is going to be Write. I want to finish writing at least one novel and pick up the old blog again…with a fresh new look. 🙂

    • Brooke January 1, 2013 at 10:57 am

      That’s a perfect word for your year. And hey, even if all you do on a day is “write” a grocery list, you still wrote something! I’m so glad you are going to pick up your blog again (and get it transferred back so it’s more visible). =)

  5. Karen January 1, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    I am very intrigued by this idea, and although I still will put my 2013 goals in writing (eternally optimistic here!), I have come up with a word, too. It is SMART (yes, all caps), and it actually is a concept I was thinking about doing a blog post on – so now I will for sure – sometime soon!
    Happy New Year, Brooke – I know your 2013 will be well served by your word of the year! Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

Leave a comment